Oh Thanksgiving how I love you and hate you all at the same time…

This year I  hosted Thanksgiving at my house, again.  I love Thanksgiving.  There is no better time for a family get together with tons of food, booze, and of course pie.  Oh, the pie.

I also love cooking.

But, what I have decided I love more…delegating the cooking!  This year, because we were going to be having so many people, I spread the cooking out to the in-towners.  The out-of-towners just had to show up while I cooked the rest.  Had I figured this out five years ago, life would have been so much simpler.

So, this year the menu went as follows…

  • Stuffing, pumpkin pie, bottle of wine – Mommy group friend
  • Green bean casserole – Brother and sister-in-law
  • Whipped mashed potatoes, crescent rolls – Mommy group friend
  • Broccoli cheese rice casserole – me
  • Sweet potato apple stuff – me
  • Cream corn – me
  • Cranberries – me
  • 2 pumpkin pies and a cherry pie – me
  • Turkey – me with help from mother-in-law
  • 2 Chocolate pudding pie – soon to be sister-in-law
  • “Green Stuff” pistachio pudding – brother-in-law
  • Gravy – Mother-in-law

So, did anyone notice there were 6 pies plus a pudding??  Yumm!

Anyway, like my mother, I try to make one new thing every year to try out.  If it’s a hit, we add it to the menu for the next year if not, I scrap it.  This year I added home made cranberries, although I am still a fan of the jellied, still looking like the can cranberries.  I also added cream corn.

This years winners…

Jennifer’s stuffing, oh my gosh, so good!  Cranberries, and after 5 years the sweet potato apple stuff finally came out right!

Epic fail…cream corn…blah.  This was disgusting!  I made it because my husband loves it but, let’s just say all of my leftovers are gone and I still have a full bowl of this corn.

So, as I finish what is probably my 15th piece of pie in the past two days, I would like to end with the things that I am thankful for…elastic band pajama pants, my son and husband, the rest of my family, my awesome friends, the ability to be a stay-at-home-mom, and that TCU had an undefeated season…GO FROGS!!

