Checking out at the grocery store today, the clerk asked us if it was Christopher’s first New Year’s Eve.  Immediately I replied that it was.  But, then I realized that, no, it wasn’t.  Just like Christmas, this is actually Christopher’s second New Year’s Eve.  Last year, we spent both of them in the hospital.

The last couple of weeks have been crazy for our family.  We packed all of our stuff and headed to New Mexico for my brother-in-law’s wedding and then stayed to celebrate Christmas and a belated birthday for Christopher.  Before that we were consumed by Thanksgiving and holiday preparations.  During all the craziness I tried to make time to celebrate Christopher and what a miracle he was.

One of the things we decided to do to celebrate was to prepare care packages for the families in the NICU at Presbyterian Hospital of Dallas where Christopher was born.  I reached out to the Lake Highlands Area Band Club for food donations and they were awesome!  On Christopher’s birthday we went up to the school and put together the care packages with some help from the band moms and then we delivered them the following day.

I can’t explain the emotions that overwhelmed me entering the NICU a year later.  The nurses gushed over Christopher in his birthday shirt and thanked us for the gifts.  I couldn’t believe that it had been an entire year since our journey with Christopher started.  As we left the NICU, I felt a joy that was so immense…even though Christopher has been home since January, it was like we were taking him home all over again.

New Year’s Eve is a time where we reflect on the year and make resolutions for the next year.  Even with our rocky start, I wouldn’t change a thing about this past year… bringing my son home in January, figuring out how to change a diaper without getting peed on, breastfeeding, crawling, figuring out a car seat, burp cloths, diapers, road trips with a baby, making mommy friends, raising awareness for prematurity, diapers, home made baby food, the list goes on and on.

My resolution for 2010, continue being the best mom I can possibly be and no hospital visits!

