One of my many contemplations today . . .

It is a rainy, dreary day outside . . . a day that I relish with its cold, crisp air and fuzzy landscapes lightly coated with rain.  Ivy and I made a dash to the mailbox and then ended up standing in the rain for a few moments to take it all in.  My little monkey turned her face skywards and opened her mouth in what I thought would be a laugh, but ended up more like a screech of delight.  Not ladylike, but hysterical nonetheless.

It’s days like this that I want to busy myself around my house and take care of all of those little things that I never seem to finish up.  So, I put my little monkey down for a nap (she is crying and needs a lullaby) and readied myself to accomplish, accomplish, accomplish.  But what to do?

That’s the real problem!  There is so much on my mental list, but nothing on my tangible to-do list.  Any time of night, I can sit bolt upright and tell you exactly what needs to be accomplished the next day, week, and even month, but when it comes down to the exact moment of true accomplishment, the list suddenly fails me.

As I write on this blog, I am writing my list of things to do . . . what is important to accomplish today?  What is the most important and what can wait?  Hmm, what can wait?  I laugh out loud, finally coming to an understanding.

If all I accomplished today was to stand in the rain with my little monkey and sing “You are my Sunshine” to soothe her teething pains during nap time . . . well, I think that is one heck of an accomplishment.

Remind yourself of what is really important and what is truly considered an accomplishment.  You might be surprised at your productivity.

Now, off to get some diapers washed and unload the dish washer . . . Jeez, I might even make dinner tonight, but let’s not get ahead of ourselves. 😉

