Usually, I’m not a big fan of Valentine’s Day.  I don’t have the best track record for them except for a few…the one where Mark proposed was a good one 🙂  But, usually Mark is out of town at TMEA during Valentine’s Day.  For those not of the band directing cult…TMEA is a weekend in San Antonio that occurs every year in February where Texas band directors get together, party it up on the Riverwalk, and talk about all things band directing.

So, this year I wasn’t expecting much of Valentine’s Day even though Mark actually came home on Saturday instead of Sunday.  I was pleasantly surprised on Sunday morning!  Mark woke up and took Christopher to the store so, I could take a shower in peace and came home with a dozen roses, a balloon (more for Christopher than for me), and a really nice card.  It was so nice.  Then we had lunch with my family.  It was a really nice day.

The coolest part though, was the candy I made for Mark.  I found this recipe on the Tasty Kitchen.  I was really excited when I found it because it is so easy.  The candies came out really well so, I thought I’d share…

Chocolate Peppermint Creams from jodiemo at Tasty Kitchen

  • 7 ounces, weight Jar, Marshmallow Cream
  • ⅔ cups Softened Butter
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • ¾ teaspoons Peppermint Extract
  • 6 cups Confectioners Sugar (sifted)
  • ½ cups Peppermint Candy, Pulvarized
  • 2 packages (12 Oz. Package) Dipping Chocolate

Beat cream, butter and extracts well. Gradually add in sugar until well mixed. Fold candy into cream mixture. Chill for a couple hours.

Roll mixture into 1/2 inch balls or shape into molds and place on a waxed-paper-lined baking sheet. Chill again for a couple of hours (or overnight).

Before the chocolate

Melt chocolate in the microwave in 1-minute intervals, stirring in between each interval. Then dip candies into chocolate. Place on a waxed-paper-lined baking sheet to set. Feel free to drizzle white chocolate on your candies!

After the dipping

The final product yumm!

Makes about 9 dozen. For me it made about 6 dozen which is still more than enough.  I think my mold may have been bigger than what the other person used.

I had some white chocolate left over so, I dipped a few of the hearts in the white instead of the milk chocolate.

I hope everyone had a great Valentine’s Day!

