Four years ago I participated in what was probably one of the most awe-inspiring, moving, and hardest events of my life.  The Breast Cancer 3Day. A three-day walk spanning 6o miles through Dallas-Fort Worth to raise money for breast cancer research.

We all know someone who has been affected by breast cancer.  Fortunately, at the time I did the walk my closest tie to breast cancer was my walking partner’s grand mother.  But, doing this walk I met so many women and men that were celebrating their 1 year breast cancer birthdays, celebrating their survival, and kicking some cancer ass.  I also met friends and families walking in memory of someone they had lost.

In 2008, I signed up to do the walk again, this time in Chicago.  I managed to raise a quarter of the required $2200 and then found out I was pregnant and unable to participate.  This year I am unable to walk again but, I am asking for your support to help Jackie Reitz meet her fundraising goal.  Jackie participated in the 3Day last year and is just crazy enough to do it 2 years in a row!  This is what she had to say about last year’s 3Day

Participating in the 3day last year was a blessing. Not only was I able to be a part of something so much bigger than myself (the Dallas event raise $7.5million in 2009 alone), I was also able to meet so many incredible people. Hear their stories. Cry with them. Laugh with them. They are memories I will cherish for the rest of my life. I can’t wait to represent all of my donors again in 2010!

Today I am asking you to visit Jackie’s 3Day page and donate just $10 to her fundraising goal in honor of our sisters, mothers, daughters, and friends.  To do this visit www.the3day.org/goto/jackier

Donations are 100% tax-deductible.

To read more about Jackie’s incredible journey to the 3Day visit her blog http://www.bettiesforboobies.com/

October 2006 walking through Arlington

