This subject makes me want to pull my hair out, hide my face in my hands, admit my total failure as a mother scream!!!

I can NOT get my son to let me brush his teeth without a knock-down, drag-out, screaming fight.

We started out about 6 months ago right around his first birthday brushing his teeth while he was sitting in his booster seat at the table after he ate his meal.  From the very beginning it was not a good situation.  I would sit down and show him the toothbrush and he would hold it, then I would swoop in and try to brush his teeth.  He would not have it.  Then we started to try to give him things to occupy his hands…some crayons, a pin wheel, eventually the training toothpaste.  Nope, didn’t work either.  We’ve also tried brushing while he’s in the bath and on the changing table.  No luck there either.

So, two weeks ago my mom was in town visiting when we tried to swoop in and clean our monster’s little darling’s teeth and she witnessed the chaos that ensued.  She told us to try letting him brush our teeth in the bathroom while standing on a stool.  I had heard this from other moms but, Christopher is pretty quick and I didn’t think he would sit still for it which is why I liked the booster seat because he was strapped in.

So, Mark and I made an agreement that we would try my mom’s way for a few days.  Well, Christopher loves to brush our teeth but, will he let us brush his?  NOPE.  Ugh.  As soon as I get near him with his toothbrush his arms start flailing and the screaming begins.  I’ve never heard of any other kid doing this.  Eventually, I can get the toothbrush in for a second but, I’m really afraid he’s going to get cavities before he can even talk!

Any moms out there have any other ideas?  I would love to know how to get this to work!

Christopher's face at his first dentist visit

