I am now almost officially 3 weeks more pregnant than I have ever been!  This is really exciting for me although I’m not really loving all of the fun things that come with late stage pregnancy.  Baby Girl is super active, practicing aerobics in my stomach at all hours of the day.  She is measuring on track and my blood pressure and weight are perfect.  We’ve decided on a name although, I’m trying not to use it too much just because I don’t want to jinx things.  I know I’m weird!

A lot of you know that I’ve been worried about Christopher’s language development.  At 18 months, he’s not using a lot of words… he babbles endlessly but, it’s mostly gibberish.  Technically, he is only 15.5 months since he was 2.5 months early but, I still worry.

Well, lately he’s started saying “uh oh” and I think he’s saying “what’s this?”  I also think I heard a “goggy” for doggy.  But, today I definitely heard something that floored me.  Walking through Albertson’s trying to prevent a tantrum because I wouldn’t give him the 2-liter of Mark’s favorite diet soda I heard something…

“Aaa-ssss…Aaa-ssss”

“What?”

Big smiles and then “Aaa-sss”

OH MY GOD!  My child just said ass in public.

Mark walks up seconds later…

“Aaa-sss”

“Mark did you hear that”

“No, what??”

“It sounds like he’s saying ass!”

“No, it doesn’t…”

“Aaa-sss”  smiles

Mark doesn’t know what to do, I don’t know what to do.  So, we walk through Albertson’s with our happy child trying to suggest other words, “cats, hats, mats”  Nope,  just ass.  I can not believe this.  Mark and I don’t cuss in front of him, or at least try not to and if there was a word I would expect him to say it wouldn’t be that one!

I’ve been worrying about him talking for so long and this is what I get!

I hope everyone is having a great weekend and if you have any suggestions about how to get an 18 month old to stop saying certain words but, encouraging others…send them my way!

