We have been in full swing with a backyard and master bathroom renovation.  I definitely feel the hormones kicking in with the pregnancy and I am very well settled in the nesting phase at this point.  I recently purchased a 1950s American style buffet for additional storage (holds all of the crystal and china that was stored in the now baby’s room).  I purchased it off of Craigslist and admittedly, it is a little beat up.

I was looking around my house and trying to decide how to refinish the piece.  My immediate thought was to paint it “Cotton Whisper” which is the color of my baseboards.  I glanced around the house again only to realize that I have an addiction . . . an addiction to white paint!

What is painted white in my home?

*  Entertainment Center

*  Kitchen Cabinets

*  Bathroom Cabinets including the ones I just had refinished

*  Dining set in my Bridal Consultation Room

*  Mirror that I purchased damaged from Pier1

*  Fireplace and Mantel

*  All doors and baseboards

Yikes!!!  I think I am making “Cotton Whisper”  the most popular color in America because of my excessive use!  So, I am going to try something different with the buffet.  I saw a great technique on Centsational Girl and thought I would try it out for myself.  Here was my inspiration piece . . . a little too beachy for my house, but beautiful none the same.

I started by removing all of the hardware and sanding the entire piece.  I left some of the gouges and scratches, because I wanted the piece to look used and worn, but if you want a clean finish, be sure to remove all scratches and dings.  Sometimes it helps to use a little bit of wood filler for the deeper ones.

Once the piece was sanded, I wiped everything down with a damp cloth to remove all sanding dust before applying any paint.  I ended up doing this a couple of times.

I choose a beautiful denim color by Martha Stewart.  I purchased one quart and selected a semi-gloss finish.  Why semi-gloss, you ask?  This piece will most likely be the host to many different dishes as the years go by.  The semi-gloss allows for an easy clean up if anything is spilled on the buffet.

I applied one coat of denim paint using a 2 1/2 inch brush.  No rollers here!  The brush allowed me to get into the nooks and crannies.  Try to paint all in the same direction to keep the piece nice, neat, and precise.

After the first coat had dried, I looked over it to make sure there were no drips or runs.  If you have drips or runs, lightly sand with fine grit sandpaper and wipe clean before applying another coat.

I applied a second coat of paint, allowed it to dry and then searched for drips and runs again.  Looking good!  I almost stopped at this stage because I was so enthralled with the color of the paint . . . but after some encouragement from the hubbie, I pushed on.

Next comes the dry brush coat.  I selected a lighter washed blue color by Martha Stewart, purchased it in a quart, and semi-gloss.  If I had to do it again, I would buy a tester size paint sample for the dry brush, since it took so little . . . guess I have some paint left over for another adventure!

You need a good towel and a stiff brush.  I dipped the very tip of the brush in the paint and blotted most of the paint off on the towel.  I worked on the side first, just in case I messed up.  Start at the edge of the piece and gently draw the brush across the surface of the piece trying to stay as straight as you can.  Work in the same direction as you cover the piece.  ALWAYS blot off paint before applying  . . . hence, the dry brush technique.

For added character, I went back and added more of the dry brushed light blue to areas that would genuinely be worn over time.

Once the dry brush layer had dried and I felt satisfied with how it looked, I applied two coats of water-based polyurethane.  Why water-based, you ask?  Well, I am pregnant right now and that is the safer product.  If I wasn’t pregnant, I would go with an oil based to allow for better durability.

When applying the clear coat, be sure to use a very clean brush and DO NOT SHAKE the clear coat in its can.  Instead use a wooden stir to gently stir the paint.  You don’t want to get a bunch of air bubbles in the clear coat because they won’t go away when you apply it to the furniture.

Reattached old hardware or new if you selected something different and voila!!!  You are done!

I purchased this piece for $150 off of Craigslist and spent about $20 on paint.  The piece cost a little more than I would have liked to spend, but the style and size worked perfectly for my home.

